Make a selection...

British and Irish Lions Rugby

The British and Irish Lions rugby team, commonly known as 'THE LIONS', has a history spaning 121 years, and is made up of players from England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland.

Their first tour to the Southern Hemisphere took place in 1888, to Australia and New Zealand, but South Africa had to wait 22 years before hosting their first LIONS Tour, which South Africa won two tests to one. It was another 14 years before the LIONS came back and it is believed that this tour was when they got their officia l'LIONS" title, not that it helped because they were whipped, losing all four tests.

The 1955 tour to South Africa saw thrilling and entertaining rugby at its best with the teams sharing the spoils 2 all, but the two next tours in 1962 and 1968 saw the LIONS go down to the Springboks losing 3 of the 4 tests in each tour.

The 1974 Tour under the captaincy of Willie John McBride saw the LIONS give the Springboks a drubbing, winning the test series 3-0 with one est drawn.

1980 saw the reversal of fortunes with the Springboks, once again triumphing in the first three tests, and with the LIONS winning the last of the four. Thereafter the pendulum swung once again in the 1997 tour with the LIONS taking the test series 2-1.

Extra Information

The 2013 Tour will be one of great interest to all as it gets underway shortly - watch this page for all the fixtures

South African Sports
Sporting Bet - South Africas best Sports Betting Site