Make a selection...

World Cup Rugby

It is believed that the first proposal for a Rugby World Cup goes back to the early 1950s’,when an Australian player , Harold Tolhurst put forward the idea. Apparently the International Rugby Board were dead set against any such competition ever taking place, and it took another 37 years to eventually come to fruition. Some say this was not a true World Cup as the South African Springboks were not included in the competition due to an international sports boycott. It was agreed by the IRB nations to be played every four years.

The 1987 Rugby World Cup was hosted by New Zealand and Australia, with New Zealand beating France in the final to become the first trophy holders. In 1991 the event took place in Britain, Ireland and France, which Australia won, beating England 12-6. Once again South Africa was excluded.

In 1995 South Africa re-joined the international sporting fraternity and hosted the competition, the first time the tournament was hosted in a single country, and South Africa showed why the first two events were sometimes referred to a pseudo World Cups by defeating the All Blacks 15-12 after the game had gone into extra time.

In 1999 the competition was hosted by Wales with matches played in England, Scotland, Ireland and France, with France causing the biggest upset by beating the All Blacks 43-31. Australia won their second trophy beating France 35-12.

In 2003 England defeated hosts Australia in the final 20-17 when in the dieing seconds, Englands’ Johnny Wilkinson put over a drop kick to win the match. In 2007 the cup was hosted by the northern hemisphere, which was won by South Africa under the captaincy of John Smit, beating England 15-6. 2011 saw the tournament back in the southern hemisphere in New Zealand, who won the competition defeating France 8-7 in an extremely tight game.

Today there are 65 nations competing in various knock out stages to reach the qualifying 20 teams to play in this prestigious tournament. In the seven times this competition has been played, England is the only northern hemisphere team to have won it, South Africa, Australia and New Zealand have all won it twice.

England will host the 2015 tournament.


Extra Information
England will be ready to welcome rugby fans from across the globe in 2015. 

Extra Information

Follow our Blog for all updated comments and interesting facts on all Sports Worldwide.

South African Sports
Sporting Bet - South Africas best Sports Betting Site