Make a selection...

South African Football

The National Soccer League of South Africa trades under the name of the Premier Soccer League, often referred to as the PSL. The top league is the ABSA Premiership, which consists of 16 teams and was founded in 1996.

PSL clubs in ABSA Premiership

  • AmaZulu
  • Bloemfontein Celtic
  • Cape Town Spurs
  • Hellenic
  • Jomo Cosmos
  • Kaizer Chiefs
  • Manning Rangers
  • Michau Warriors
  • Moroka Swallows
  • Orlando Pirates
  • QwaQwa Stars
  • Real Rovers
  • Mamelodi Sundowns
  • Supersport United
  • Umtata Bush Bucks
  • Vaal Professionals
  • Witbank Aces
  • Wits University

Mamelodi Sundowns have won this competition 5 times from its inception, with Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates winning twice each and Manning Rangers, Santos and SuperSport United, who are the current champions, once each.

There are also 3 cup tournaments which are played during the year:-

The MTN 8

Started in 1972 this cup competition is contested by the top 8 teams of the PSL league, where the previous seasons winner plays the current seasons 8th place; 2nd place plays 7the place; 3rd place plays 6th place, and 4th place plays 5th place. The semi finals are played on a home and away basis. The prize money for this competition is R8 million, with the winner takes all. The most successful team over the 37 years the competiton has been running is Kaizer Chiefs, with 14 titles.

Telkom Knockout

Founded in 1992 this knock out competition comprises the 16 teams from the PSL. In every game there has to be a winner, if not then the game will go into extra time and then to penalty shoot out if necessary. Current cup holders are Ajax Cape Town, with Kaizer Chiefs winning the most titles.(6)

Nedbank Cup

This tournament started in 1971, and is based on the England FA cup format, where the secondary league teams have the opportunity of topling the 'Giants'. 32 teams are drawn from the PSL (16), 8 from the National First Division, and 8 from the amateur ranks competing for R6 million in prize money, with the winners qualifying for the CAF confederations cup.

Teams are not seeded and the first 16 names drawn from the hat get home town advantage. This tournament is played on a knock out basis going into extra time and penalty shoot outs if necessary.

Quotes and Sayings

The vision of a champion is someone bent over, drenched in sweat, to a point of exhaustion, when no one else is watching.
~ Anson Dorrance
American women's soccer coach.


Extra Information

Follow our Blog for all updated comments and interesting facts on all Sports Worldwide.

South African Sports
Sporting Bet - South Africas best Sports Betting Site