Make a selection...

Super 14 Rugby - Now Super 15 Rugby

Originally called the Super 12 when the competition started in 1996, it was changed to the Super 14 for the 2006 season when two extra teams were added. We now have the Super 15 - this now includes 5 Teams from each of the Three Southern Hemisphere Countries which are Australia, New Zealand and South Africa.

Australian Teams are:

  1. Brumbies:- based in Canberra
  2. Waratahs:- based in Sydney
  3. Reds:- based in Brisbane
  4. Force:- based in Perth
  5. Rebels:- Melbourne

New Zealand Teams are:

  1. Crusaders:- based in Canterbury
  2. Blues:- based in Auckland
  3. Chiefs:- based in Waikato
  4. Highlanders:- based in Otago
  5. Hurricanes:- based in Wellington

South African teams are:

  1. Blue Bulls:- based in Pretoria
  2. Cheetahs:-based in Bloemfontein
  3. Lions:- based in Johannesburg
  4. Sharks:- based in Durban
  5. Stormers:- based in Cape Town.

All fourteen teams play against each other on a points system:-

  1. 4 points for a win
  2. 1 bonus point for scoring 4 tries
  3. The losing team are awarded a bonus point if their loss is by 7 points or less.

The competition runs for 14 weeks, after which the 4 top teams play in a semi-final, with the winners playing against each other in the final. The matches are broadcast, internationally to 41 Countries.

Extra Information

Follow our Blog for all updated comments and interesting facts on all Sports Worldwide.

South African Sports
Sporting Bet - South Africas best Sports Betting Site