Make a selection...

South African Sports
Sporting Bet - South Africas best Sports Betting Site

Sports Betting
Bodog Sports Betting on all sporting events

ICC Champions Trophy

England will host the 2010 Champions Trophy, the International Cricket Council has confirmed.

The event began as the ICC Knockout in 1998, changing to a round-robin format in 2002, and is the second biggest 50-over competition after the World Cup.

It has been held in England once, in 2004, when the hosts, captained by Michael Vaughan, were surprisingly beaten in the final by West Indies.

Australia beat New Zealand to win the 2009 tournament in South Africa.

For the initial tournaments, 10 ICC nations and two associate member countries all competed.

But following criticism of the protracted 2007 World Cup in the Caribbean, there was a revised Champions Trophy format in 2009 where the top eight nations were divided into two groups of four and the top two from each contested the semi-finals.

Meanwhile, England's defence of their World Twenty20 crown will take place in Sri Lanka in 2012 and the 2014 version of the shortest format will be held in Bangladesh - the first time the densely-populated country gets its own tournament.

The 2015 World Cup will be jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand, the first time cricket's showpiece event will have been played in the Antipodes since 1992.

Extra Information

Follow our Blog for all updated comments and interesting facts on all Sports Worldwide.