Make a selection...

Fifa Confederations Cup

The Confederations Cup was founded in 1992 and is played every three years, consisting of eight teams, 6 from the winners of the various FIFA continental competitions, the current world champions, and the local national team hosting the competition.

The FIFA Confederations Cup will be held in Brazil in 2010, as a prelude to the 2014 FIFA World Cup. The tournament is expected to be held from 15–30 June 2010. Brazil are the defending champions.

As the competition partially overlaps with the fourth round of the 2014 FIFA World Cup qualification in Asian zone, the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) has asked FIFA to consider a change of date. However, the AFC decided that the match day will be adjusted only for Japan, the representative of AFC for the Confederations Cup.

The competition is split into two logs, A & B, each consisting of 4 teams, and each team plays against the other in their log.

The Winners and runners up of each log then progress through to a semi-final stage, with the winners of group A playing the runners up of group B, and the winners of group B playing the runners up of group A.

The winners of this then play in the finals, and the losers play to determine 3rd and 4th placings.

Extra Information

Follow our Blog for all updated comments and interesting facts on all Sports Worldwide.

South African Sports
Sporting Bet - South Africas best Sports Betting Site