Make a selection...

Currie Cup Rugby

The Currie Cup is a South African local provincial competition dating back to 1889. The cup donated by Sir Donald Currie was given to the captain of the first British Lions team to tour South Africa with the instruction to give it to the first team to beat them, and thereafter to become a floating trophy for the South African Provincial tournament. However the British Lions were unbeaten on their tour but gave the trophy to Griqualand West as they had only won 3-0 - their closest game.

In the early part of the competition which ever team had the most points were deemed the winners, but from 1939 the first Currie Cup final was played and won by Transvaal (Golden Lions).

Since 1968 The Curry Cup has been played every year. The 14 teams are drawn from various provinces and split into 8 premier divisions, and 6 first division sides, with the top of the first division playing the bottom of the premier division in a promotion/relegation contest every year.

Extra Information

Follow our Blog for all updated comments and interesting facts on all Sports Worldwide.

South African Sports
Sporting Bet - South Africas best Sports Betting Site